Mar 14, 2023 | Food & Drink


As salamu alaikum.
Is it permissible to use a product containing fermented soy bean?
Example: Tamari is made by fermenting soy beans.

Jazakallah khair!


We have answered the question on mono-diglyceride in your previously submitted question.

As for Tamari, this would follow the general ruling of those fermented items that are not consumed for the purpose of intoxication such as kefir and kimchi. This general rule is that as long as the food item or ingredient is not being used to intoxicate, it does not lead to intoxication if consumed in normal amounts, it is not consumed in the way that intoxicating drinks are consumed and is not consumed recreationally then it would be permissible to use it.

However there are some contemporary scholars who do not permit the consumption of these products, therefore if there are non-alcoholic alternatives it would be best to opt for them.

Answered by:
Ifta Research Fellow

Checked & Approved by:
Mufti Abdul Rahman Mangera
Mufti Zubair Patel