Mono- Diglyceride

Feb 27, 2023 | Food & Drink


Assalamu alaikum.
There is an emulsifier used in frozen desserts, breads, etc called Diglyceride/ Mono- Diglyceride.
Is it necessary to find out the source?
Jazakallah khair.


As these ingredients could originate from either animal, synthetic or plant based sources we would suggest consuming only those products that have a vegetarian sign or say vegetable glycerine. This would ensure that the ingredient is not sourced from animals. If there is no indication that the product is suitable for vegetarians then one would need to check with the manufacturer as to why it is not labelled as suitable for vegetarians.

Answered by:
Ifta Research Fellow

Checked & Approved by:
Mufti Abdul Rahman Mangera
Mufti Zubair Patel