Cross Contamination

Dec 13, 2021 | Food & Drink


Due to possibility of cross-contamination in gloves, ovens, slicers, etc. with pork or other haram products. Is it permissible to eat pizza from fast food chains like Dominos, Pizza Hut, Hungry Howie’s, etc.?


One would first need to ascertain the likelihood of cross contamination. If a restaurant makes separate provisions for vegetarian meals whereby they ensure there is no cross contamination then it will be permissible to order vegetarian meals from there. If however, there are no such provisions and there is a high likelihood of cross contamination then one must abstain. One would need to contact each restaurant to find out their specific process for preparing and handling vegetarian food.

Answered by:
Ifta Research Fellow

Checked & Approved by:
Mufti Abdul Rahman Mangera
Mufti Zubair Patel